Rolling Stone Australia


Beloved Nineties Rockers Horsehead Share Details of Forthcoming Deluxe Boxset


Beloved Nineties Rockers Horsehead Share Details of Forthcoming Deluxe Boxset

On Thursday, Horsehead revealed details of a re-issue plan, with the band's entire back catalogue, a deluxe vinyl boxset and previously unavailable material set to be released throughout 2018 via Golden Robot Records. The Melbourne band's first two albums — 1993's self-titled debut and 1996 follow-up, Onism — are also set to be released digitally for the first time.

For the deluxe boxset, Golden Robot have revealed plans to package the band's entire discography — Horsehead, Onism and 1999's Goodbye Mothership — alongside a collection of b-sides, the band's full 1999 Live at the Wireless set and an unreleased LP, The Lost Album. The boxset will also feature a photo archival history of the band and a booklet, with notes from long-time fan, veteran music writer Jeff Jenkins.

Guitarist Cameron McKenzie says that when approached by Golden Robot Records founder Mark Alexander-Erber the band were "chuffed and agreed it was long overdue."

"Thanks to [Mark], old and new audiences will see the Horsehead library get a new lease of life and also get the chance to lay their hands on some previously unavailable material," McKenzie says, adding that they "think the music has stood the test of time and we're really excited to land it all on a 2018 audience. But we're biased."

Forming in 1992 in Melbourne, Horsehead quickly rose to prominence, buoyed by breakout debut single "Oil and Water". In conjunction with the release of their self-titled debut in October of 1993, the band would go on to perform on the national Big Day Out tour that year, ahead of shows alongside Guns N' Roses and Skid Row.

Through the first half of the nineties, Horsehead shared stages with Hoodoo Gurus, Baby Animals, The Screaming Jets and Midnight Oil. In 1995, they found themselves on the Alternative Nation Festival tour, alongside Nine Inch Nails, Faith No More, Lou Reed and Tool — who put them in contact with Undertow producer Sylvia Massy. Fast forward five months and Massy is behind the boards for Horsehead's second LP, Onism.

From the release of Onism in 1996, the band toured with Alice Cooper, The Tea Party, Divinyls, Angels and Screaming Jets, before releasing their third and final record, Goodbye Mothership, in 1999. A year later Horsehead amicably disbanded, shortly after sharing the double single release "Bounce Back" b/w "Procrastinator".


Topics: Horsehead


Get updates on all the good stuff! Sign up to our Weekly Newsletter.