Rolling Stone Australia

 

First Listen: Horror My Friend 'Stay In, Do Nothing'

More

First Listen: Horror My Friend 'Stay In, Do Nothing'

It's the fuzzy, unleashed slabs that strike first — and hardest. Yet, beneath that oversized, guitar-dominated exterior, there's buried fragments of pop-punk charm that wriggle their way through. Straddling a line between youthful confidence ("nothing can, or will ever kill me") and self-depreciating teenage despair ("I guess I should beat myself up for never making it past my bedroom door"), these suffocated stabs feed the band's frenzied state of urgency — sounding not too far removed from New Zealand punk-turned-shoegazers, Die! Die! Die! It's the unexpected highlight of Stay In, Do Nothing, the impressive debut LP from Adelaide post-punks, Horror My Friend, injecting a jolt of life into the riff-focused noise.

Stay In, Do Nothing is out this Friday, via Poison City. Pre-orders up now via their e-store, with an exclusive full stream of the record available below:

The 'Stay In, Do Nothing' Tour 2016 also kicks off this weekend:

Friday, January 22: Clarity Records, Adelaide *
Wednesday, February 10: Rad, Wollongong
Thursday, February 11: Phoenix Bar, Canberra
Friday, February 12: Blackwire, Sydney *
Saturday, February 13: The Bearded Lady, Brisbane
Friday, February 19: Prince Of Wales, Bunbury
Saturday, February 20: Hyperfest, Perth *
Sunday, February 21: The Bird, Perth
Friday, February 26: The Old Bar, Melbourne
Saturday, February 27: Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Friday, April 1: Jive Bar, Adelaide

* All ages show.

Photo Credit: Sia Duff

 

Topics: Horror My Friend

 
X

Get updates on all the good stuff! Sign up to our Weekly Newsletter.