Rolling Stone Australia


Grizzly Bear Preview New LP ‘Painted Ruins' With Frenetic 'Mourning Sound'


Grizzly Bear released a new song from their forthcoming fifth album, Painted Ruins. The upbeat pop-rock song "Mourning Sound" has the steady bass build of a U2 song and singer Ed Droste's voice in the first verses sounds eerily (and wonderfully) Bono-esque.

The Chris Taylor-produced Painted Ruins is set for release on August 18th.

Grizzly Bear also announced their first tour in four years. The 26-date trek, which spans North American and Europe, launches October 5th in Dublin and concludes December 13th in L.A., Pitchfork reports.The indie-rock band last toured behind their fourth LP, 2012's Shields, though they did perform in 2016 at a rally supporting Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders' presidential campaign.

In April 2015, Droste told Rolling Stone that the band was "feeling more adventurous with the sonic directions" of their new material. "[We're] changing it up a little bit – not like, a techno dance album," he said. "It's in the beginning stages. Only a couple songs have started to take shape and it's gotta be like, a good dozen or so before we get the picture."

Painted Ruins Track List
1. "Wasted Acres"
2. "Mourning Sound"
3. "Four Cypresses"
4. "Three Rings"
5. "Losing All Sense"
6. "Aquarian"
7. "Cut-Out"
8. "Glass Hillside"
9. "Neighbors"
10. "Systole"
11. "Sky Took Hold"


Topics: Grizzly Bear


Get updates on all the good stuff! Sign up to our Weekly Newsletter.