Rolling Stone Australia


Vance Joy Introduces New Album with Anthemic 'We're Going Home'


Vance Joy — who features on the cover of the latest issue of Rolling Stone Australia — today shares "We're Going Home", the lead single from his second album, Nation of Two, due February 23rd.

Slow-building from gentle acoustic strums, the Melbourne singer-songwriter moulds uplifting calls ("no second chances") into an eruptive, anthemic hook, destined to be a chant-a-long favourite at festival's country-wide. Meanwhile, the accompanying Mimi Cave-directed clip traces the song's reflective focus, following a Nan as she heads home via a full memory bank and a hillside covered with interpretative dancers.

Alongside the lead single, Vance has also shared the Nation of Two tracklist and artwork (illustrated by the artist himself); see below.

On the album, Vance says he aimed to document the lives of a "perfectly self-contained couple; their world beginning and ending at the bed they share, the car they ride in, or any other place where they’re together." A narrative he explains feeds the LP's underlying theme of an "idea that their love for each other gives them their bearings; a point of reference that makes sense of life."

Nation of Two follows Vance Joy's 2014 platinum-selling debut, Dream Your Life Away, which featured the smash hit "Riptide."

vj cover

Nation of Two Tracklist
1. "Call If You Need Me"
2. "Lay It On Me"
3. "We’re Going Home"
4. "1. "Saturday Sun""
5. "Take Your Time"
6. "I’m With You"
7. "Like Gold"
8. "Alone With Me"
9. "Crashing Into You"
10. "One Of These Days"
11. "Little Boy"
12. "Bonnie & Clyde"
13. "Where We Start"

Main photo: Vance Joy. Credit: Justin Bettman.


Topics: Vance Joy


Get updates on all the good stuff! Sign up to our Weekly Newsletter.